h1

Getting into Snap

September 22, 2012

I don’t listen to the radio as much as I used to, but I still have a chance on Saturdays. But the local NPR station shook up its schedule quite a bit this season, tossed some shows I’d been listening to for a few years now. Kind of unceremoniously, at least to me. One of the new shows, however, has captured my attention (as much as it can be). Snap Judgment.

On the station here it follows This American Life (TAL), in time slots formerly occupied by one of their old weekend comedy shows. Change is…well, it’s change. Gave me a little frown at first. But Snap has grown on me fast. They tell good stories. The show’s host, Glynn Washington, is a good storyteller, who has a way with words. Following TAL, they go together nicely. It’s only been a few weeks, but I can imagine this being the next TAL if Ira Glass ever retires.

Anyway, should anyone have some time to kill it might well be spent listening to some of the Snap Judgment podcasts. For the rest of you thinking ‘what’s a radio?’ that’s okay. Podcast! Look at the shiny internets!

Leave a Reply

