h1

Venus geekout

June 9, 2012

I knew I’d find a good video summation of the phenomenon eventually, but I got to watch this on June 5th thanks to the Internet. If I’d visited my friends who have the welding mask that can look straight at the sun I might have seen a little bitty speck on it, or of course there’s building a pinhole camera or using a small telescope…but thanks to live feeds I was able to watch it happen through the many big telescopes trained on the event.

And it is a nice video. I just think maybe it should have been a little shorter. Gave me a chuckle. But it won’t happen again until 2117. It’s been a good year for astronomical special events.

Leave a Reply

