h1

On lesser evils

December 17, 2010

As a bona fide liberal moonbat, most political decisions for me revolve around choosing the lesser evil. Very rarely do I find a candidate whose positions and goals match my own to the point that I actually feel good about supporting them. Fortunately, out here in the desert, I have such a kindred spirit serving my congressional district. Raúl M. Grijalva does it for me.

Late last night, while the east coast was watching the late shows or sleeping, he was at it again. I don’t even have to ask why this vote to pass Obama’s extension of the Bush-era tax cuts took place at midnight. It was too shameful a capitulation to see the light of day. Arizona sends several Democrats to the House, surprised me, too, to see how many; but all the rest of them voted for the tax cuts. Gabrielle Giffords of course did, no surprise there. Whatever; I already didn’t like her. The House leadership went from ‘no deal’ to ‘deal’ with as much stealth and silence as they could manage.

I salute President Obama for getting in the bill what is in there.  I am sorry that the price that has to be paid by our children and our grandchildren to the Chinese government to pay for the increase in the deficit that the Republicans insisted upon. — Nancy Pelosi on the House bill

And here I thought she had some measure of control over what bills get called up for a vote.

Meanwhile, we have the comedy of Obama sucking up to big business, where the lie and the proof of it appear so close together as to be bleedin’ obvious.

“I want to dispel any notion we want to inhibit your success,” President Obama told 20 CEOs this morning, according to a source in the room. “We want to be boosters because when you do well, America does well.”

Of primary concern to the president is the $1.8 trillion in corporate wealth currently sitting in banks and equivalent places not being spent on job creation. The 20 companies in the room represent at least $200 billion in cash and equivalents as of the 3rd Quarter.

So, no. When big business does well (to the tune of $1.8 trillion) the country does not necessarily do well. They do not bring us along with their prosperity and record profits. It is not inevitable, they are not tied together. Big business and the rich can do just fine while the rest of us suck it.

So, about that lesser evil thing…I’m not seeing it. Instead I am looking at maybe not voting for President in 2012, not bothering. That’d be the first time since I gained the right to vote. That is the measure of my apathy, of my disillusionment, of my not believing in the ‘lesser evil’. Obama nominates centrist judges and allows the other side to push everything to the right. Obama caves to Republican obstructionism and pushes legislation to the right. Obama allows Guantanamo and rendition and war criminals and profiteering to linger on and embraces the moral bankruptcy of the right, makes it a Democratic policy.

I know he’s accomplished some good in the past couple years, but today, well…I’m not feeling it. Grijalva continues to enjoy my full support, though. If I put any effort or activism or money into politics in the next cycle, it can go to him and not the President. Because this is what I get from the President.

I understand the point about compromise to save some of the poor and unemployed the pain of tax increases and unemployment benefit cuts (not that it saves them all). But this caving-in teaches the Republicans that it works. Worse still, it sets up the same situation to happen again, next time during the next presidential election. Worst of all, it teaches me that Obama et al are surrendering the political fight, the spin war, before it even begins.

Why should I go on voting for that?

Leave a Reply

