h1

A rough month for skeptics

August 24, 2010

Whew. First we learn about Christopher Hitchens and his probably-terminal cancer. Then over the weekend I find PZ Myers posting about something badly wrong with his heart to the point of requiring surgery. And that’s after spending part of the day Monday in the ER, myself.

Well, I can count myself the luckiest of the lot, so far. I didn’t have to spend the night there. That went badly, last time. But for the time being, it appears I will just have some chronic pain to deal with, and a new reason to walk more. No new dangerous blood clots to contend with. Seemed downright ironic when I was told biking wouldn’t help, that I need the particular motion of walking; but at least I know that riding the bike didn’t cause this. Post hoc, ergo propter hoc, and all that fallacious rot.

On the bright side, I’ve lost about 10-15 pounds since I last checked. Not dropping too fast, but it’s going in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

