h1

Rep. Peter King is an ass

May 4, 2010

Dogberry. Dost thou not suspect my place? Dost thou not suspect my years? O that he were here to write me down an ass! but, masters, remember that I am an ass; though it be not written down, yet forget not that I am an ass.

The top Republican on the House Homeland Security Committee stands self-indicted by his words to Politico earlier, regarding the latest bungled act of terrorism in Times Square.

“I hope that [Attorney General Eric] Holder did discuss this with the intelligence community. If they believe they got enough from him, how much more should they get? Did they Mirandize him? I know he’s an American citizen but still,” King told POLITICO.

And I understand he is Pakistani-born and a naturalized citizen, but still. American citizenship is not conditional. It’s not something we overlook when it seems inconvenient.

Don’t give me that look, pal. You are an ass. Forget it not.

Cinco de Mayo edit!

I would be remiss in failing to lambaste one of my own senators for echoing this craven call for denial of citizens’ rights.

McCain, echoing comments he’s made in previous national security situations, said on a radio program this morning that “obviously that would be a serious mistake [to Mirandize Shahzad]… at least until we find out as much information we have,” the Hill reports.

“Don’t give this guy his Miranda rights until we find out what it’s all about,” McCain added.

I wonder how this grab for gov’t power will do to burnish McCain’s street cred with the militia wingnut crowd. I have my doubts.

Ah, I’ve been spotted! Well, at least they can’t bust me for Driving While Hispanic.

Leave a Reply

